Arkansas Wing
Main Content

Cadet Spaatz Awards


THE GENERAL CARL A. SPAATZ AWARD is Civil Air Patrol’s highest cadet honor. It is presented to cadets who have demonstrated excellence in leadership, character, fitness, and aerospace education.

Cadets qualify for this prestigious award after devoting an average of four years to progress through sixteen achievements in the CAP Cadet Program. Along the way they develop self-discipline, a strong sense of personal responsibility, the ability to lead and persuade, and the foundation necessary for pursuing a career in aviation, space, or technology.

The final step a cadet must complete to earn the Spaatz Award is a rigorous four-part exam consisting of a challenging physical fitness test, an essay exam testing their moral reasoning, a comprehensive written exam on leadership, and a comprehensive written exam on aerospace education. Upon passing the Spaatz Award exams, the cadet is promoted to the grade of cadet colonel.

The Spaatz Award is named in honor of Carl “Tooey” Spaatz, the first Chief of Staff of the United States Air Force. One of the giants in the history of airpower, in 1929 Spaatz, together with another pilot, set an important flight endurance record of 150 hours and 40 minutes in the early days of aviation. During World War II, he commanded the Allied air campaign against the Nazis. In the Pacific Theater, the atomic bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki took place under his command. After retiring from the Air Force, General Spaatz served as the first chairman of the Civil Air Patrol National Board.

The Spaatz Association

Arkansas Cadets that have earned the General Carl A. Spaatz Award: 

Name Date Award Number
Charles G. Bishop 6/1/1973 219
Craig C. Harbuck 9/26/1974 293
Stepen W. Wilson 6/10/1985 751
Justin E. Pitts 2/28/1989 930
Chris W. McLellan 5/24/1990 1001
Richard M. Operhall 5/24/1990 1002
Lannie C. Bryd, IV 12/10/1990 1035
Wade D. Brock 1/20/1992 1091
Todd R. Holmes 1/31/1992 1097
Joseph L. Pullen 8/26/1992 1130
Kay Dickson 10/19/1992 1138
Jared Mandella 1/6/1996 1283
Kevin J. Fromm 4/6/1999 1397
Annika Fitzpatrick 7/1/2002 1462
Michael L. Parker 3/30/2004 1526
Jonathan D. Ver Hoeven 4/10/2004 1528
Samuel Authur-Ross Macheak 5/06/2008 1697
Jeffrey D. Ver Hoeven 9/20/2010 1772
Benjamin Parmer 6/19/2014 1956
Robby E. Jeffries 5/12/2016 2042
Zane G. Phillips 1/28/2017 2088
Holly M. Holmes-Smith 3/13/2018 2160
Logan C. Romero 7/4/2018 2184
Nicolas C. Sowerbutts 7/9/2021 2355

Data Source:


© 2023 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.